Gluten-free No Mo

Posted on Updated on

Hi friends!!

So from my last update I was trying a gluten-free and dairy-free diet. It didn’t work so well. I am proudly a four-time Whole30 veteran and yet my body didn’t like the lack of gluten and dairy. I was extremely exhausted, in a brain fog, and lethargic (I felt like a was moving at one fourth the speed of everyone around me – both physically and mentally). So yeah, that was the end of that. It wasn’t all bad though! I learned to love almond milk; and am hoping to continue to drink this healthier alternative over cow’s milk.

I also experimented with a few new gluten-free and dairy-free recipes and stumbled upon this four-ingredient muffin recipe (only peanut butter, cocoa powder, banana, and maple syrup). They turned out pretty good, considering that they’re not made with eggs, four, or butter. THEY’RE VERY DENSE. I needed a lot of almond milk to wash them down. I love all things chocolate, however these little muffins definitely tested my limits in treats that are too chocolately. I would still recommend them to anyone restricted by consuming gluten and dairy. If not, I completely recommend eating normal gluten- and dairy-containing muffins. If you’re still interested in a healthy treat, the recipe can be found here.

Life is still pretty good – no complaints here! Senior Class Gift is going strong, my classes are getting further underway, I had my first presentation yesterday of the semester and we got 100% (go Cubs!), oh yeah and THE PATRIOTS WON THE SUPER BOWL. My presentation was extremely interesting; we taught the class about the factors affecting job satisfaction which you (both as the employer and employee) cannot change. This includes intelligence, natural temperament, and sociocultural factors (are you a parent? young? old? have gained a particular specialty?) It was awesome because we filled our presentation with gifs from our favorite tv shows: Dr. Spencer Reid from Criminal Minds taught our class that even people with extremely high IQs aren’t always happy, Andy Dwyer and April Ludgate from Parks and Rec taught us that some people are naturally always happy (Andy), whereas some are simply not (April), Creed from the Office taught us that age is also a contributing factor in levels of satisfaction, and finally that Zayne from the band 1Direction taught us that once a person gains a specialty, they are more likely to leave and never be completely satisfied with their work. Boom! Filled. With. Gifs. Needless to say, our class enjoyed our presentation.

This week I’m looking forward to my annual board meetings this Thursday and Friday, Charter Day festivities this weekend, and continuing to work hard to get my spring break bod (current countdown is at 3.5 weeks!)

Leave a Reply

